Understanding Awards Offered

TU Dublin -Tallaght Campus offers a range of qualifications that are incorporated into the National Framework of Qualifications. The National Framework of Qualifications is designed to recognise both large and small parcels of learning. Consequently the framework incorporates five types of awards.

Major Awards

These are the main kind of award made at each level for example the Higher Certificate is the major award at Level 6; the Honours Bachelor Degree and the Higher Diploma are the major awards at Level 8. TU Dublin -Tallaght Campus offers a range Higher Certificate and Degree programmes in Business, Science, Computing and Engineering.

Some people would like to return to education and work towards an accredited award, but their work, home and family commitments mean they are unable to commit to a course that might take two years or more. However they could manage part-time study – if they could commit for a shorter time.

Similarly, employers often need tailored training for their staff. For them, small, discrete amounts of training individually tailored to their needs would be very useful. The new ‘minor’, ‘supplemental’ and ‘special purpose’ awards that have been introduced as part of the National Framework of Qualifications offer a perfect opportunity for individuals to complete an accredited smaller parcel of learning that allows progression to other accredited awards.


Minor Awards

These awards recognise the successful completion of a smaller amount of learning which is a part of a major award but which has relevance in its own right — for example, the Certificate in Good Manufacturing Practice & Technology (Minor Award) available at TU Dublin -Tallaght Campus. Minor awards are accredited qualifications.

Special Purpose Awards

These awards recognise learning for more specific, relatively narrow, purposes — for example, Certificate in Fundamentals of Software Development (Special Purpose Award) that TU Dublin -Tallaght Campus has developed. Special Purpose Awards are accredited qualifications.

Supplemental Awards

These awards recognise learning which is additional to a previous award. The award could, for example, accredit the learning that takes place when an individual updates and refreshes existing knowledge or skills, or completes a continuing professional development programme. Supplemental awards are accredited qualifications.

Individual Module Accreditation

Students can opt to complete individual modules and accumulate credits toward a minor or major award. (This is possible through the Accumulation of Credits and Certification of Subjects (ACCS) Scheme). Subjects successfully completed are certified individually. Supplemented awards are accredited qualifications.

How NFQ Qualifications are Awarded

The Qualification (Education & Training) Act 1999, also legislated for two new councils to be set up to make the awards of the new National Framework of Qualifications. The Further Education and Training Council (FETAC) makes awards up to Level 6 of the framework.

The Higher Education and Training Council (HETAC) is the new awarding body for all third level institutions except the universities. HETAC is the successor to the National Council for Educational Awards (NCEA). HETAC makes awards from Level 6-10.

HETAC has the power to delegate authority to make awards to recognised institutions. Recognised institutions with delegated authority can make awards in their own name.
‘ITT Dublin has delegated authority from HETAC to confer its own awards for all taught programmes to Masters Degree level.’

Click Here for The National Framework of Qualifications Website

  • Synergy Centre at ITT Dublin
  • QQI Brand Logo
  • Member of the Technological University for Dublin Alliance
©2019 Institute of Technology Tallaght • Built by Digital Crew