Minister welcomes Oireachtas draft order approval for TU Dublin

Minister Mary Mitchell O’Connor welcomes Oireachtas approval of the draft order to establish Ireland’s first Technological University
Following the granting on 17 July 2018 by the Minister for Education and Skills, Richard Bruton, T.D., of the application for technological university status made under the Technological Universities Act 2018 by Dublin Institute of Technology, Institute of Technology Blanchardstown and Institute of Technology Tallaght, the Dáil on 16 October 2018 approved a draft order by the Minister, appointing 1 January 2019 as the date on which these three Institutes of Technology shall be dissolved and the new Technological University Dublin shall be established. The Seanad had approved the draft order on 9 October.

The new technological university shall be named Technological University Dublin in English and Ollscoil Teicneolaíochta Bhaile Átha Cliath in the Irish language.

The provision for the creation of technological universities under the enabling 2018 legislation, which was piloted through the Oireachtas by the Minister of State for Higher Education, Mary Mitchell O’Connor, T.D., is a key element of the Government’s plan to drive balanced regional economic growth and development under Project Ireland 2040 and under the Action Plan for Education 2018 to make Ireland’s education and training service the best in Europe by 2026.

  • Synergy Centre at ITT Dublin
  • QQI Brand Logo
  • Member of the Technological University for Dublin Alliance
©2019 Institute of Technology Tallaght • Built by Digital Crew