In This Section

Young Microbiologist of the Year Award, 2017

Andrew O'Connor won 2nd prize in the Young Microbiologist of the Year Award for 2017.  

Andrew is a graduate of the BSc (hons) in Bioanalysis programme and studied as a postgraduate student in IT Tallaght until recently. 
He is now working in UCD with Dr. Siobhán McClean. 

This year’s finalists (L-R): Andrew O’Connor, UCD; Jonathan Sumner, King’s College London; Daniel Hurdiss, University of Leeds; Neil Gow, President of the Microbiology Society; Mairead Connor, Queen’s University Belfast; Rebecca Hall, University of York; Samuel Ellis, Quadram Institute Bioscience; Emma Cascant, NIAB-EMR and University of Reading.




  • Synergy Centre at ITT Dublin
  • QQI Brand Logo
  • Member of the Technological University for Dublin Alliance
©2019 Institute of Technology Tallaght • Built by Digital Crew